Skip To Main Content
Cannon's Upper School
Board of Visitors


The Board of Visitors at Cannon School brings a talented group of volunteer leaders together twice a year to discuss with each other and with Head of School Christopher Jones the key strategic issues facing the school and the surrounding area.
Key Strategic Objectives for Cannon School:

  • Academic Success – How does Cannon School continue to grow as the premier independent school in our region and also as a top school in the entire Charlotte region and the southeast? How does Cannon School do an even better job of preparing students to contribute to and lead in a world that is ever-changing?
  • Community Outreach – How does Cannon School strengthen its role and relationships in the various communities it serves?

Board of Visitors Members

Mr. Hans Peterson

Dr. Adam Ortiz

Mr. John R. Andrews
Mr. Michael Ankrom, Jr.
Rev. Donald Anthony
Mr. Curtis Arledge
Dr. Kristin Baker
Mr. Thomas P. Barone
Mr. Tony M. Brown
Mr. Horace Bryan
Dr. Graham W. Bullard
Mr. Jeffrey T. Burton
Chief Ron Campurciani
Mr. Timothy Cindric
Mr. Larry T. Cloninger, Jr.
Mr. James Combs
Mrs. Janet Craven
Mr. Ricky Craven
Mr. Michael E. Dane
Mr. Bryan Delaney
Mr. Damien Dovi
Hon. William C. Dusch
Mr. Dave Edmondson

Mr. Ernest J. Ferland, III
Mrs. Elizabeth Fitzpatrick
Chief Gary Gacek
Mrs. Winslow Galloway
Mr. Royden L. Goode, II
Mr. Dan Gordon
Mrs. Rebecca Hammel
Ms. Rosa Manso Herranz
Mr. Douglas Hicks
Mrs. Beth Jaszewski
Mr. Tom Kabasakalian
Mr. Ross Kellman
Mayor Rusty Knox
Mr. Britt L. Leatherman
Mr. Jeffrey Leck
Mr. Paul Leonard
Dr. Matthew Lineberger
Mrs. Stacy Purser Lopez
Mr. Robert J. McCreary
Mr. Sharif A. Metwalli
Mr. Joseph Murphy
Mr. Chris Newton
Mr. J.D. Phillips
Ms. Carol A. Pontis

Ms. Danielle Randall
Mr. Robert P. Ray, Jr.
Dr. Mark P. Redding
Mr. Ernest B. Remmey
Mrs. Lynne S. Safrit
Mr. William T. Schafer
Mrs. Susan Schneider
Mr. Richard Snyder
Mrs. Sonya R. Stevanovski
Mr. Mark A. Swartz
Mr. Ronald L. Turner, Jr.
Mr. Timothy E. Tysinger
Mrs. Dakeita Vanderburg
Mrs. Bianca Wittgraefe
Mr. Jochen Wittgraefe
Mr. John M. Wurzburger
Mr. Michael D. Yoder
Mr. Duke Zukowski

Board of Visitors Meetings: 2022-2023

Fall Meeting:

Friday, October 21, 2022 - Cancelled

Join us instead for:  

Private Reception
Thursday, October 20, 2022

5:00 - 6:00 p.m.
Campbell Gallery, Cindric Performing Arts Center
Cannon School


Toast the Cannon Community
Thursday, October 20, 2022

6:00 - 8:00 p.m.
Bryant Central Green 
Cannon School

Spring Meeting:

Friday, April 21, 2023
8:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and optional lunch
Campbell Gallery, Cindric Performing Arts Center
Cannon School 

Continue Exploring

G. Christopher Jones began his tenure as Cannon’s seventh Head of School in July 2019. Read his welcome message and learn more about the Cannon community.

Meet the directors and division heads that comprise Cannon's Leadership Team.

Cannon's Board of Trustees are responsible for guiding the character, mission, and culture of the School. Meet this year's Board Leaders and Members.

The Board of Visitors at Cannon School brings a talented group of volunteer leaders together to discuss with each other and with Head of School Christopher Jones the key strategic issues facing the school and the surrounding area.

Our new mission statement is a clarification of who we are as a school community—one that nurtures all relationships in order to engage each individual learner in finding his or her own path to growth.